Your browser is not supported

Our website does not support the browser you are using. For a better browsing experience update to a compatible browser like the latest browsers from Chrome, Firefox and Safari.

Review of Insurance (Prudential Supervision) Act 2010

We are carrying out a review of the Insurance (Prudential Supervision) Act 2010 over three years from 2021 to 2023 including a series of consultations. This page provides regular updates of the progress of our review, including past consultations and links to new consultations as they occur.

Policyholder security

On 30 August 2021, we released a consultation paper (Options Paper 2) about policyholder security. The consultation closed on 15 November 2021.

Read the consultation on policyholder security

Scope of Act and overseas insurers consultation

In November 2020, we released a consultation paper about the scope of the Insurance (Prudential Supervision) Act 2010 (IPSA) and overseas insurers.

Read more about our 2020 consultation

On 22 July 2021, we released a feedback statement summarising the submissions we received. We also published detailed submissions to the extent that respondents have not requested confidentiality.

Read the feedback statement and submissions on the 2020 consultation page

Review restarts

We first began reviewing the IPSA in 2016 and then put the work on hold. In October 2020, we restarted the review with the release of a paper setting out our anticipated review timeline.

First consultation on proposed review

In March 2017, we first consulted on a proposed review of the IPSA. We released an issues paper outlining:

  • the rationale for the review
  • the terms of reference
  • the intended process for the review
  • a range of potential issues we had identified that could be taken forward under the review.

We also hosted stakeholder discussion forums in Auckland and Wellington during April 2017 to provide an opportunity for stakeholders to discuss the issues paper and the review in general.

Submissions received

We received 42 submissions in response to the issues paper:

Feedback statement

We released a feedback statement in October 2017. It outlined our response to several issues raised by stakeholders that were not discussed in the issues paper and provided a preliminary timetable for Phase 2 of the IPSA review.

More information about IMF's 2016 Financial Sector Assessment Programme is available.

Read more about the Financial Sector Assessment Programme

Terms of reference for review

In April 2016, we released the terms of reference for a review of the Insurance (Prudential Supervision) Act 2010 (IPSA).

We considered the current legislative purposes of IPSA remained appropriate. The review would therefore be undertaken in the context of these purposes being to:

  • promote the maintenance of a sound and efficient insurance sector
  • promote public confidence in the insurance sector.

If you have feedback on IPSA

In addition to our formal engagement process, we welcome comments or feedback on the operation of IPSA at any time.

If you would like to contact us, please email: [email protected]