This section includes information on the coins we used today, the history, design and number of mintings for imperial, decimal and commemorative coins.
There are five New Zealand coins currently in circulation − 10c, 20c, 50c, $1, $2.
The planning and production of the New Zealand coins is a very complex business. Find out more about the coin minting process.
Learn how New Zealand’s coins have evolved through history.

2018 marks 100 years since the signing of the Armistice. The Bank has issued an Armistice Day coin to commemorate the history, service, and sacrifice made by service personnel and their families to bring peace to New Zealand and the world.

In 2015, the Reserve Bank launched a special coloured circulating commemorative coin to honour the spirit of Anzac that was forged 100 years ago on the shores of Gallipoli and continues to live on today.