Register of registered banks in New Zealand

All banks operating in New Zealand must be registered with the Reserve Bank of New Zealand.
 Last updated: 30 April 2018

There are currently 26 registered banks.

Under section 69 of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand Act, the Reserve Bank must keep a public register of registered banks and this is provided below.

A separate page provides information on banks' credit ratings.

Click on the name of the bank to go to their website (some websites may not be in English).

Banks marked (B) operate in New Zealand as branches of overseas-incorporated banks. All other banks are incorporated in New Zealand.

Banks currently registered in New Zealand

Name of registered bank

Registration Date

ANZ Bank New Zealand Ltd

1 April 1987

ASB Bank Limited

11 May 1989

Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited (B)

5 January 2009

Bank of Baroda (New Zealand) Limited

1 September 2009

Bank of China Limited (B)

29 March 2018

Bank of China (New Zealand) Limited

21 November 2014

Bank of India (New Zealand) Limited

31 March 2011

Bank of New Zealand

1 April 1987

China Construction Bank Corporation (B)

21 December 2017

China Construction Bank (New Zealand) Limited

15 July 2014

Citibank N A (B)

22 July 1987

Commonwealth Bank of Australia (B)

23 June 2000

Heartland Bank Limited

17 December 2012

Industrial and Commercial Bank of China (New Zealand) Limited

19 November 2013

JPMorgan Chase Bank NA (B)

1 October 2007

Kiwibank Limited

29 November 2001

Kookmin Bank (B)

14 July 1997

Coöperatieve Rabobank U.A. trading as Rabobank Nederland (B)

1 April 1996

Rabobank New Zealand Limited

7 July 1999

Southland Building Society

7 October 2008

MUFG Bank, Ltd (B)

1 March 2004

The Co-operative Bank Limited

26 October 2011

The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited(B)

22 July 1987

TSB Bank Limited

8 June 1989

Westpac Banking Corporation (B)

1 April 1987

Westpac New Zealand Limited

31 October 2006