In this section you can learn more about our banknotes including how they circulate, how much is in circulation and how they are made.

New Zealand has two sets of banknotes in circulation – Series 6 and the new Series 7. Both series are legal tender. Both sets have five denominations: the $5, $10, $20, $50 and $100 banknote.
The planning, printing and production of the New Zealand banknotes is a very complex business, employing many skilled professionals for many years before the banknotes are issued.
New Zealand has one of the lowest rates of counterfeiting in the world. But it is important people check their notes’ security features – to make sure they are genuine.
Learn how New Zealand’s banknotes have evolved through history.
New Zealand's banknotes have been signed by the Governor of the Reserve Bank, or by the Chief Cashier, a post that existed until the early 1980s.  Thirteen different people have signed bank notes in New Zealand.