Deputy Governor appointed chair of OECD Committee on Financial Markets

Release date
24 March 2015

Reserve Bank Deputy Governor Grant Spencer has been appointed chair of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)'s Committee on Financial Markets (CMF).

The membership of the CMF includes representatives of the OECD's 34 member countries and senior management of the OECD Secretariat. The role of the Committee is to guide and manage the work programme of the OECD's Financial and Enterprise Affairs Directorate.

Reserve Bank Governor Graeme Wheeler said: "The appointment is a reflection of the high regard with which Grant is held in international financial markets.

"Grant also chairs the EMEAP working group on financial markets, a cooperative organisation of 11 East Asia and Pacific central banks."

The OECD's work on financial markets seeks to promote efficient, open, stable and sound market-oriented financial systems, based on high levels of transparency, confidence and integrity.

The CMF work agenda focuses on trends and prospects in the international and major domestic financial markets, and structural issues and developments in financial markets and the financial sector.

More information on the OECD is available here.

Please note: The acronym CMF is correct and reflects its French title.

Media contact

Carole van Grondelle, External Communications Adviser

Ph 04 471 3807, mob 0272 555 400, [email protected]