Your browser is not supported

Our website does not support the browser you are using. For a better browsing experience update to a compatible browser like the latest browsers from Chrome, Firefox and Safari.

Dr Chris Eichbaum appointed to Reserve Bank Board

Dr Chris Eichbaum has been appointed to the Reserve Bank Board, Finance Minister Michael Cullen announced today.

Dr Eichbaum is currently Senior Lecturer in Public Policy in the School of Government at Victoria University of Wellington and his previous positions include appointments in the New Zealand and Australian public service. The author of a range of academic papers and research reports, Dr Eichbaum has degrees from Canterbury and Massey Universities, and from the Australian National University. His doctoral dissertation, completed in 1999, examined central banking reforms in New Zealand and Australia in the 1980s and 1990s.

He replaces the Rt Hon Ted Thomas whose term has expired.

The other non-executive directors of the Reserve Bank Board are John Goulter; Dr Arthur Grimes (Chair); Alison Paterson (Deputy Chair and Chair of the Board's Audit Committee; Hugh Fletcher; Paul Baines; and Dr Marilyn Waring.

The Reserve Bank Board's role includes providing the Minister of Finance with an annual assessment of the central bank's performance, which is published in the Reserve Bank's Annual Report.

Media contact:
Jason Knauf
021 226 9869 or
Chris Ritchie
021 270 9013